In a nutshell: Third party chocolates have milk particles, a big no-no for vegans and people allergic to milk.
from the press release
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE – September 3, 2013 – GoPicnic Brands, Inc. is voluntarily recalling two vegan ready-to-eat meals, GoPicnic Black Bean Dip & Plantain Chips and Hummus & Crackers, containing Professor Zim Zam’s Extraordinary Sweets Dark Chocolate with Orange and Dark Chocolate with Sea Salt. The chocolate products in these meals may contain an undeclared milk allergen.
People who have an allergy or severe sensitivity to milk run the risk of serious or life-threatening allergic reaction if they consume the chocolate in the voluntarily recalled meals. However, this chocolate is safe to consume for individuals who do not suffer from a milk allergy. There have been no complaints or issues associated with the non-chocolate items in these GoPicnic meals.
Product was distributed nationwide through retail stores and direct delivery.
Only the lot codes of GoPicnic meals containing the impacted chocolates are being voluntarily recalled. This action does not pertain to the newer updated menus of GoPicnic Black Bean Dip & Plantain Chips or GoPicnic Hummus & Crackers that do not contain these specific chocolate items.
The ‘best by’ dates associated with the voluntarily recalled lot codes range from 9/24/2013 to 5/29/2014. Each meal’s ‘best by’ date is located adjacent to the lot code on the back of the meal box.
The following is a revised list of product lots that are included in the voluntary recall; please disregard the original list found in the September 1, 2013 recall press release. GoPicnic apologizes for any confusion.
GoPicnic Black Bean Dip & Plantain Chips Meal - lot codes:
10773, 11063, M13107, M23107, M13137, M23137, M13165, M13175, M13182, M23182, M13197, M13201, M23204
GoPicnic Hummus & Crackers Meal – lot codes:
10303, 10373, 10383, 10503, 10513, 10523, 10623, 10663, 10793, 10803, 10923, M13106, 11063, M23107, M23143, 11143, M13115, M23136, M23137, M13144, 11483, M13151, M23151, M23152, M23164, M13171, M13176, M23176, M13183, M23183, M13184, M23184
This voluntary recall by GoPicnic Brands is being conducted as the result of a recall of these chocolate products by G. Debbas Chocolatier, Inc., as the chocolate may contain undeclared milk particles. Debbas is a third-party supplier to GoPicnic Brands, and manufactured the recalled chocolate. The GoPicnic meals containing these Debbas chocolate products were both distributed to U.S. retailers and distributors nationwide and made available for purchase on the Internet between 01/31/13 to 8/27/13. One customer with a known milk allergy reported feeling sick after consuming the chocolate.
As part of a standard annual menu refresh, GoPicnic Brands had already discontinued these chocolate items from GoPicnic meals and ceased production and distribution of meals containing these chocolate items by July 23, 2013, more than 30 days prior to notification of the voluntary recall.
“We sincerely apologize to our valued customers for any inconvenience or concern due to the mislabeled packaging,” said Julia Stamberger, CEO & President of GoPicnic Brands. “The health and safety of our customers is paramount to us and we are committed to providing our customers with safe meals that are produced, sourced and handled responsibly.”
Consumers who have GoPicnic meals in their possession with the specific lot codes involved in the voluntary recall may visit the website and click on the icon to request a coupon for a replacement meal. Requests must include the meal lot number, ‘best by’ date, and a photo of a receipt or product package for each meal requesting replacement. Questions should be directed to GoPicnic Brands at 773-328-2490 Monday through Friday between 9 a.m. - 6 p.m. CST, or via email to the Customer Relations Department at firstname.lastname@example.org.
For more information, visit the FAQ about the voluntary recall
The U.S. Food and Drug Administration has been notified of this voluntary recall.